Welcome Holly R. Hughes to the Fuse Family

During the 2016 Pitch2Pub contest, I came across a YA manuscript by Holly Hughes that I mostly loved. I was completely enthralled by about seventy-five percent of it and saw a lot of potential. The other twenty-five percent wasn’t quite ready for prime time, but...

Welcome Joni Pope to the Fuse Family

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a literary agent in possession of vintage Sweet Valley books, who grew up reading as much Judy Blume and Jerry Spinelli as she could get her hands on, must be in want of some clients who write great contemporary middle...

Perfect your submission materials with Team Fuse

Writing an 85,000-word novel is easy. Writing 250 words to describe the novel is hard. When you have to put together the perfect query letter or nonfiction proposal, it can almost feel more daunting than writing the book. Team Fuse is here to help you. Sign up for the...

How to Choose Your Comp Titles

One of the best things you can do in your query letter is to list some solid comp titles for your book. In the library world, we call these readalikes: books that resemble your book, or that fill in the blanks in the sentence “Readers of _______ and _______ will...

The problem with 14-year-old protagonists

Placement is everything when it comes to selling books. In children’s book publishing, a lot of the key to a book’s placement is the age of the protagonist. Usually, middle grade novels have protagonists between ten and thirteen, and young adult novels...