MAJIX: NOTES FROM A SERIOUS TEEN WITCH Is Out Now!

Like your YA witchy and sassy? We have a special treat for you, just in time for the summer solstice: My name is Kestrel. Kestrel Murphy. Never call me Susan. Who ever heard of a witch named Susan? A year ago, I was on the white-magic side. Lately, I've been leaning...

read more

Perfect your submission materials with Team Fuse

Writing an 85,000-word novel is easy. Writing 250 words to describe the novel is hard. When you have to put together the perfect query letter or nonfiction proposal, it can almost feel more daunting than writing the book. Team Fuse is here to help you. Sign up for the...

read more

Welcome Renée A. Price to the Fuse Family!

Our Fuse family is growing. I've signed a new client, Renée A. Price. You may not know her name, and you haven't read any of her work (yet). What makes Renée memorable? I rejected her first query and manuscript for a YA Fantasy, but I enjoyed her writing enough to...

read more

Cover reveal for Alex R. Kahler’s RUNEBINDER!

A great blog post from Alex R. Kahler about his new YA novel Runebinder and the queer characters who are heroes of their own stories. https://www.barnesandnoble.com/blog/teen/cover-reveal-alex-kahler-runebinder-hes-done-heteronormativity-ya/ And now the mind-blowing...

read more

Welcome Jorjeana Marie to the Fuse Family!

Announcing the latest Fuse Literary client: Jorjeana Marie! Jorjeana is one of those people with so many talents and accomplishments that she makes the rest of us look like slackers. As an actress, she has appeared on Chappelle’s Show and SNL. As a stand-up...

read more

How to Choose Your Comp Titles

One of the best things you can do in your query letter is to list some solid comp titles for your book. In the library world, we call these readalikes: books that resemble your book, or that fill in the blanks in the sentence "Readers of _______ and _______ will like...

read more

The problem with 14-year-old protagonists

Placement is everything when it comes to selling books. In children's book publishing, a lot of the key to a book's placement is the age of the protagonist. Usually, middle grade novels have protagonists between ten and thirteen, and young adult novels focus on teens...

read more

Spotting Hybrid Authors in the Wild

Here's a link to a blog post I wrote for Digital Book World about hybrid authors and expanding your delivery options while keeping story at the heart of your craft! http://www.digitalbookworld.com/2017/hybrid-authors-spotting-one-in-the-wild/

read more

Why Grammar Matters

There's an old joke that most of us have probably heard at some point, and it goes something like this: "Today I met a man with a wooden leg named Smith!" "So what's the name of his other leg?" Misplaced modifiers often lead to unintentional humor. And my...

read more

Tips to Use Your Five Senses When Writing

Guest post by Terry Persun We all know the old adage, show don't tell, and including sensory detail from our five senses helps us drop the reader into our story world.  Here are some tips to consider for your next project. Sight The most often used sense when writing...

read more