How to Choose Your Comp Titles

One of the best things you can do in your query letter is to list some solid comp titles for your book. In the library world, we call these readalikes: books that resemble your book, or that fill in the blanks in the sentence "Readers of _______ and _______ will like...

read more

The problem with 14-year-old protagonists

Placement is everything when it comes to selling books. In children's book publishing, a lot of the key to a book's placement is the age of the protagonist. Usually, middle grade novels have protagonists between ten and thirteen, and young adult novels focus on teens...

read more

Spotting Hybrid Authors in the Wild

Here's a link to a blog post I wrote for Digital Book World about hybrid authors and expanding your delivery options while keeping story at the heart of your craft! http://www.digitalbookworld.com/2017/hybrid-authors-spotting-one-in-the-wild/

read more

Why Grammar Matters

There's an old joke that most of us have probably heard at some point, and it goes something like this: "Today I met a man with a wooden leg named Smith!" "So what's the name of his other leg?" Misplaced modifiers often lead to unintentional humor. And my...

read more

Tips to Use Your Five Senses When Writing

Guest post by Terry Persun We all know the old adage, show don't tell, and including sensory detail from our five senses helps us drop the reader into our story world.  Here are some tips to consider for your next project. Sight The most often used sense when writing...

read more

Bid on Critiques to Benefit the ACLU

It's our Agencyversary! Happy birthday, Fuse Literary! *confetti cannon* That means it's also time for our annual charity benefit. Last year, we donated to the National Alliance on Mental Illness. The year before, we donated to the National Multiple Sclerosis Society....

read more

Children’s Book Categories

Recently I have seen some confusion about what is a picture book vs a chapter book (don't chapter books have pictures too?) and what is a middle grade title. Obviously there are some gray areas, and some titles that cross genres. But I thought I'd do a post on the...

read more

Finding Balance

Whether you're a supporter of the new president and administration or not, you can't deny they're causing a lot of chaos and anxiety. It's hard to keep up with the crazy coming out of Washington. Waking up every day and facing headlines and social media full of the...

read more

Writing by Hand

After a stint in journalism for daily and weekly newspapers, I spent more than 20 years in and around the high tech industry, so I am very comfortable with computers. I use them in nearly every aspect of my life. Writing on a keyboard is my preferred method for its...

read more

Congratulations to the 2017 SFWC Contest Finalists!

I'm a fan of reputable writing contests because I see them as a milestone on a writer's career path. Imagine what it must feel like to finally put your book idea on a page (or 350 pages) and then show that work to strangers. Frightening! Exhilarating! That exposure is...

read more