Buy It: IndieBound | Barnes & Noble | Amazon |

Amy Zhang’s first book, Falling into Place, came out a bit over a year ago. In today’s blog, she talks to us about writing your second novel, and what she’s doing now!

First, how would you describe this book, This is Where the World Ends?
I would say it’s a book about friendship. A lot of other things, too—being burnt out from school and stressed about the future and keeping up appearances—but I think that it all comes back to friendship, and the different forms of it. It’s a book about toxic friendships and complacent ones and convenient ones and true, wholesome ones. My agent (note: that’s me!) has been saying it’s Revenge of the Manic Pixie Dream Girl, and I like that a lot, too.

How was writing your second book different from writing your first, Falling Into Place?
THIS IS WHERE THE WORLD ENDS was a hard book for me. I didn’t have the same kind of time and focus as I did with FALLING INTO PLACE, and I think there’s a slightly frantic edge to the book that probably reflects my mindset at the time. It fits the story, though, so it all worked out in the end! Every book is different.

Do you have a favorite place to write?
My favorite place to write is at my desk at home. It’s covered in book pages and scribbled all over with my favorite quotes. There are flowers and candles in the corner and a collection of my favorite pens and some lollipops, and the walls around it are covered in brainstorming graphics and old projects from my high school photo class. I think it’s the coziest place in the world.

What’s the last thing you read?
The last thing I read was actually ME BEFORE YOU by Jojo Moyes—I know, I’m way behind. I cried my eyes out. I’m on a bit of a rereading binge right now, starting with the Harry Potters and the Percy Jackson series.

About the Book (from the Publisher)

A heart-wrenching novel about best friends on a collision course with the real world from Amy Zhang, the critically acclaimed Indies Introduce and Indie Next author of Falling into Place.

Janie and Micah, Micah and Janie. That’s how it’s been ever since elementary school, when Janie Vivien moved next door. Janie says Micah is everything she is not. Where Micah is shy, Janie is outgoing. Where Micah loves music, Janie loves art. It’s the perfect friendship—as long as no one finds out about it. But then Janie goes missing and everything Micah thought he knew about his best friend is colored with doubt.

Using a nonlinear writing style and dual narrators, Amy Zhang masterfully reveals the circumstances surrounding Janie’s disappearance in an astonishing second novel that will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver and Jay Asher.