1st Indie Author to Get 6-Figure Audio-Only Deal: Brian D. Anderson

Announced today during Book Expo in New York: Brian D. Anderson has a lot to celebrate as he is now the first self-published author to secure a six-figure advance for an audiobook-only deal. The indie fantasy author was offered six figures by Audible, Inc. for the...

How to Choose Your Comp Titles

One of the best things you can do in your query letter is to list some solid comp titles for your book. In the library world, we call these readalikes: books that resemble your book, or that fill in the blanks in the sentence “Readers of _______ and _______ will...

The problem with 14-year-old protagonists

Placement is everything when it comes to selling books. In children’s book publishing, a lot of the key to a book’s placement is the age of the protagonist. Usually, middle grade novels have protagonists between ten and thirteen, and young adult novels...